Donors Support 12 New Chancellor’s Fellows

12 headshots on gold background
2021-22 Chancellor’s Fellows, from left: Top row — John Albeck, Ching-Hsien Chen, Gerardo Con Diaz, Carrie Finno, Evgeny “Eugene” Gorskiy and Michele La Merrill. Bottom row — Marina S. Leite, Barbara Linke, Gerardo Mackenzie, Danny C. Martinez, Mijke Rhemtulla and Jaroslav Trnka.

Quick Summary

  • Each receives $25,000 in unrestricted funding
  • Newest fellows are among 178 named over 22 years
  • Philanthropy has sustained program since it started

UC Davis has named a new class of Chancellor’s Fellows — faculty members who will carry the chancellor’s imprimatur for five years in recognition of their outstanding work in academia.

“These 12 newest fellows represent our university at its very best,” Chancellor Gary S. May said. “They are now part of a proud 22-year history for the Chancellor’s Fellows program. These fellows are making advances that help solve complex and critical issues, while also helping our students become critical thinkers and problem-solvers.”

UC Davis has designated 178 Chancellor’s Fellows since 2000. For all that time, the UC Davis Annual Fund, Davis Chancellor’s Club and the UC Davis Parents Fund have provided unrestricted philanthropic support to each of the fellows for research or other scholarly work.

“We are so grateful for donor support of the Chancellor’s Fellows,” said Shaun Keister, vice chancellor of Development and Alumni Relations. “This program gives our faculty the resources to conduct innovative research that helps UC Davis make even greater contributions to the world.”

The 2021-22 Chancellor’s Fellows, each of whom has been awarded $25,000, are listed here with their department or school in parentheses: John Albeck (molecular and cellular biology), Ching-Hsien Chen (internal medicine), Gerardo Con Diaz (science and technology studies), Carrie Finno (veterinary medicine), Evgeny “Eugene” Gorskiy (mathematics), Michele La Merrill (environmental toxicology), Marina S. Leite (materials science and engineering), Barbara Linke (mechanical and aerospace engineering), Gerardo Mackenzie (nutrition), Danny C. Martinez (education), Mijke Rhemtulla (psychology) and Jaroslav Trnka (physics and astronomy).

Read more about each fellow and their research interests in the boxes below. Click on any of the boxes to see the fellow’s faculty page.

Media Resources

Dateline Staff: Dave Jones, editor, 530-752-6556,; Cody Kitaura, News and Media Relations specialist, 530-752-1932,

Primary Category

Secondary Categories