Seven UC Davis alumni in state Legislature

The presidential vote count may be confusing, but the results from last week’s election for the state Legislature are clear: UC Davis will continue to have seven alumni in the Senate and the Assembly. And all of them are Democrats.

Alumnus Assemblyman Mike Machado captured the Senate seat held by Sen. Patrick Johnston, who was prohibited from seeking re-election. because of term limits. Machado, who received his master’s degree in agricultural economics from UC Davis in 1977, was first elected to the state Assembly to represent the Stockton area in 1994.

Newly elected Assemblyman Dario Frommer received a law degree from UC Davis in 1992. He will represent the 43rd district from Los Angeles. Prior to his election, Frommer worked as the appointments secretary for Gov. Gray Davis.

Frommer’s election kept the number of UC Davis alumni in the Legislature at seven, since Assemblywoman Kerry Mazzoni was prohibited from running again.

"It’s great to have alumni in the Legislature because they are familiar with UC Davis’ integral part in the state of California both as an economic driver and through our K-12 involvement," said Matthew Hargrove, director of advocacy programs for Alumni Relations and Government and Community Relations.

Other UC Davis alumni in the Legislature are:

• Ellen Corbettt, class of 1977, Assembly. She represents the 18th district, which includes all of Castro Valley, Hayward, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Union City, portions of Pleasanton and Sunol.

• Kevin Shelley, ’78, Assembly. He represents the 12th district which includes portions of San Francisco and San Mateo counties.

• Darrell Steinberg, ’84, Assembly. He represents the 9th district from Sacramento.

• Sens. Jackie Speier,’ 72, and Deborah Ortiz, who left UC Davis in her senior year to attend law school, were not up for re-election.

Media Resources

Amy Agronis, Dateline, (530) 752-1932,

Primary Category