Skip to main content
You are here

Chancellor earns Sacramentan of the Year award

By Amy Agronis on December 3, 2004 in University

The Sacramento Metro Chamber has named Chancellor Larry Vanderhoef as "Sacramentan of the Year."

Vanderhoef will be honored at the Metro Chamber's 110th annual Dinner and Business Awards on Jan. 28 at the Hyatt Regency in Sacramento. The chamber will also recognize Dale Carlsen, president of The Sleep Train, as the Businessman of the Year, and Jeanne Reaves, president and CEO of River City Bank, as Businesswoman of the Year.

"Larry is being recognized for his career and lifetime achievement as chancellor at UC Davis and the important contributions he has made in the Sacramento region," said Matt Mahood, Metro Chamber president and CEO. "His initiatives at UC Davis have propelled the campus to an international status and reputation for excellence and contributed to a highly skilled workforce for the region."

Vanderhoef has been chancellor since 1994, elevated to the position after 10 years as executive vice chancellor.

"Larry is also being recognized for his steadfast and unflagging leadership that led to the building of the Robert and Margrit Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts," Mahood said. "This state-of-the art facility in Davis adds incredible prestige to the area and in short order has grown to be a centerpiece for the arts and cultural life of residents."

The chamber also is honoring Vanderhoef for the expansion of the UC Davis Medical Center. Under his watch, the medical center campus has expanded to more than 3 million square feet of buildings that house a nationally renowned cancer center, a world-class research center for the study of autism and a new trauma and emergency facility, among other improvements. Another accomplishment, the chamber noted, is Vanderhoef's support in the launch of UC Davis Connect, a program that links new business ventures with university and community resources needed to succeed.

The annual dinner introduces the 2005 Metro Chamber Board Chair Flo Di Benedetto of Hunter Richey Di Benedetto & Eisenbeis, LLP. As the incoming chair, Di Benedetto's first official function will be to outline her priorities for the chamber. Outgoing chair Brice Harris, chancellor of the Los Rios Community College District, will review the chamber's progress made during 2004. KCRA-TV Channel 3 news anchor Deirdre Fitzpatrick will emcee the event.

Media contact(s)

Amy Agronis, Dateline, (530) 752-1932,