Skip to main content
You are here

UCOP Issues Guidance on Executive Order

By News and Media Relations on January 28, 2017 in University

The UC Office of the President today (Jan. 28) issued this "Guidance for the UC Community on the Executive Order Affecting Visa Processes and Entry Into the United States":

On Friday (Jan. 27), President Trump issued an executive order that restricts entry into the United States for 90 days for individuals from seven countries — Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Based on news reports, individuals with immigrant and non-immigrant visas and those with green cards who are originally from these countries are being denied entry into the United States. We continue to analyze the executive order and its impact on our students, faculty, scholars, employees and other community members. At this time, we recommend that UC community members from these seven countries who hold a visa to enter the United States or who are lawful permanent residents do not travel outside of the United States.

We will continue to monitor and analyze the impact of the executive order and will issue additional guidance as soon as possible. Until then, if you are a visa holder or green card holder from one of these countries that is currently abroad, or you have any questions, please contact the International Studies Office on your campus.

UC Davis Services for International Students and Scholars

More Post-Election Positions and Resources

About the author(s)

News and Media Relations News and Media Relations is a unit of the Office of Strategic Communications. Phone: 530-752-1930.