LAURELS: Regulska Named to New Academy

Joanna Regulska, hands outstretched in front of her, leads a seminar.
Joanna Regulska, vice provost and dean of Global Affairs, leads a seminar on the UN Sustainable Development Goals in February 2020. (Karin Higgins/UC Davis)



  • Joanna Regulska, Global Affairs
  • Prasant Mohapatra, Office of Research
  • Shannon Anderson, Graduate School of Management
  • Mary Cadenasso, Department of Plant Sciences
  • Gary S. May, chancellor
  • Jonna Mazet, School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Katharine Burnett, Global Tea Initiative
  • Laurie Brignolo, Research and Teaching Animal Care Program

Joanna Regulska, vice provost and dean of Global Affairs, has been named one of 23 founding members of the National Academy for International Education, an honorary society and think tank.

The first learned society of its kind, the academy comprises leaders in international education from all over the world, including Australia, Canada, China, Ghana, Japan, Taiwan and the United States.

Regulska joined UC Davis in 2015 as leader of Global Affairs and professor of gender, sexuality and women’s studies. In 2019, the Institute of International Education, or IIE, honored her with its inaugural Senior International Officer Award.

At the invitation of the IIE, Regulska and six colleagues developed the initial framework for the new honorary society and think tank. “The National Academy for International Education provides a critical space for some of the most accomplished international education professionals to work together on pressing issues for our field,” said Allan Goodman, IIE president and chief executive officer. “The academy recognizes these distinguished individuals and the role they play in shaping our world.”

The academy will work to advance international education in ways that address global challenges and build a more peaceful, sustainable and equitable world. Members are beginning to introduce collaborative projects to reduce inequalities in and through international education.

“I am truly honored to be a part of launching this National Academy for International Education with colleagues at IIE and around the world,” Regulska said. “It is critical we acknowledge and address global challenges and work to eradicate racism, xenophobia, sexism and other global inequalities within our field.”

Prasant Mohapatra headshot

Prasant Mohapatra, vice chancellor of research and a distinguished professor of computer science, has been named a board member of the California Mobility Center, a Sacramento-based, nonprofit public-private innovation hub. The center launched full operations March 12 as a research and prototyping center with the goal of helping companies move pioneering mobility and transportation technology to commercialization.

The 12-member board comprises leaders from business, industry and higher education, including experts in future mobility and energy technology sectors. Read more about the board.

The mobility center is supported by UC Davis, Sacramento State University and the Los Rios Community College District, the research and advocacy organization Valley Vision Inc., the city of Sacramento and the Greater Sacramento Economic Council.

Shannon Anderson headshot

The journal Management Accounting Research recently awarded its David Solomons Prize for best article of the year to Professor Shannon Anderson of the Graduate School of Management and her three co-authors on “When One Size Does Not Fit All: Using Ex Post Subjective Ratings to Provide Parity in Risk-Adjusted Compensation.”

Published in June 2020, the article by Anderson, Henri Dekker (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Karen Sedatole (Emory University) and Eelke Wiersma (Copenhagen Business School) reports on their research on handicapping incentivized bonus pay for middle managers. Read Anderson’s GSM blog post on the research.

Anderson holds the Michael and Joelle Hurlston Presidential Chair, and has been with the management school since 2010.

The editorial board members of Management Accounting Research select the winner of the Solomons award.

New fellows:

  • Mary Cadenasso, professor, Department of Plant Sciences — Ecological Society of America, in recognition of her contributions in urban ecology and landscape ecology, including discoveries on the social-natural hybridity of urban land covers, and on ecological boundaries and ecosystem function that have informed management, policy and environmental justice in cities and conservation lands. 
  • Gary S. May, chancellor and professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering — American Society for Engineering Education, in recognition of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications, and experience in engineering or engineering technology education or allied field, and contributions to the society. He joined UC Davis as chancellor in 2017 after a three-decade career as a faculty member at the Georgia Institute of Technology and ultimately dean of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
  • Jonna Mazet, professor of epidemiology and disease ecology and founder of the One Health Institute, School of veterinary Medicine — Veterinary Medicine Academy, National Academies of Practice, an interprofessional, nonprofit organization covering a range of health care professions. Fellows have excelled in their professions and are dedicated to furthering interprofessional practice, scholarship and policy in support of interprofessional care, willing to serve as distinguished advisors to health care policy makers in Congress and elsewhere.

The World Green Tea Association recently presented its O-cha (Tea) Pioneer Award to Katharine Burnett, professor of art history and faculty director of the Global Tea Initiative for the Study of Tea Culture and Science. The association, established by the government of Japan’s Shizuoka Prefecture, gives the award in recognition of academic research and other factors related to green tea production and culture.

Laurie Brignolo headshot

Laurie Brignolo, executive director of UC Davis’ Research and Teaching Animal Care Program, has been appointed to the AAALAC International Council on Accreditation, an independent nonprofit organization that promotes the humane treatment of animals in science through voluntary accreditation and assessment programs.

UC Davis is among more than 1,000 universities, companies, hospitals, government agencies and other research institutions in 49 countries with AAALAC accreditation through voluntary efforts that go beyond complying with local, state and federal laws that regulate animal research.

Brignolo will represent AAALAC as lead on accreditation site visits throughout North America.

Dateline UC Davis welcomes news of faculty and staff awards, for publication in Laurels. Send information to

Media Resources

Dateline Staff: Dave Jones, editor, 530-752-6556,; Cody Kitaura, News and Media Relations specialist, 530-752-1932,

Primary Category

Secondary Categories