Skip to main content
You are here

LAURELS: Dean Is ‘Doing Work That Matters’

By Dateline Staff on March 10, 2020 in University


  • Dean Lauren Lindstrom, School of Education
  • Michal Kurlaender, School of Education
  • Annabeth Rosen, Department of Art and Art History
  • Abigail Thompson, Department of Mathematics
  • Nate Trauernicht, UC Davis Fire Department

A special interest group of the American Educational Research Association has named Lauren Lindstrom, dean of the School of Education, a distinguished researcher.

Presentation of the award from the Special and Inclusive Education Special Interest Group had been scheduled to take place next month in San Francisco during the association’s annual conference — but the association decided March 5 to cancel the live conference, due to the coronavirus. (It has been moved to a virtual format.)

Lindstrom has made significant, international-reaching contributions to the field of special education, particularly in the area of career development and post-school outcomes for youth with disabilities. Her research mainly focuses on improving outcomes for young women with disabilities, underserved youth, and the role of families in career development.

According to one colleague in her field, Lindstrom has a “strong and enduring commitment to finding ways of ensuring youth with disabilities have the very best chance of flourishing in their schools, in their communities and in their daily lives. She is doing the work that matters most in the lives of diverse students and their families.”

Lindstrom joined UC Davis as dean in June 2017 after more than 25 years as an academic and administrator in the University of Oregon’s College of Education. She is an affiliated faculty member at the UC Davis MIND Institute and a member of the UC Davis Graduate Group in Education.

Michal Kurlaender musghot

Michal Kurlaender, professor and department chair in the School of Education, has been elected to the National Academy of Education, joining other U.S. and international members recognized for outstanding scholarship in the field of education.

Kurlaender is affiliated with the School of Education’s California Education Lab and Wheelhouse: The Center for Community College Leadership and Research, as well as Policy Analysis for California Education. Her research mainly examines kindergarten-through-grade-12 and postsecondary alignment.

Annabeth Rosen cutline

Professor Annabeth Rosen, who holds the Robert Arneson Endowed Chair in the Department of Art and Art History, has been elected a fellow of the American Craft Council.

“Annabeth Rosen is one of the preeminent ceramic sculptors in the 21st century,” the council declares on its website. “She transforms the conventional material of ceramic into fired, broken-but-gathered, unconventional, visually striking and mysterious works of art.”


Abigail Thompson mugshot

Professor Abigail Thompson, chair of the Department of Mathematics, has been recognized as a Hero of Intellectual Freedom by the American Council of Trustees and Alumni, an independent, nonprofit organization committed to academic freedom, excellence, and accountability at America's colleges and universities..Thompson will deliver the keynote address at the council’s ATHENA Roundtable Conference in November.


Natew Trauernicht mugshot

Fire Chief Nate Trauernicht has been elected president of the Institution of Fire Engineers, USA Branch, and appointed to the America Burning Revisited 2020 Task Force.

Eight British chief fire officers founded the Institution of Fire Engineers in 1918 “to promote, encourage and improve the science and practice of fire engineering, fire prevention and fire extinction, and all operations and expedients connected therewith, and to give impetus to ideas likely to be useful in connection with or in relation to such science and practice to the members of the Institution and to the community at-large.”

A similarly small group of fire service leaders met in Tulsa, Oklahoma, in February 1996 to establish the U.S. branch, one of nearly 60 branches worldwide with a total membership of more than 11,000 fire officers.

“America Burning Revisited 2020” will be the third update of 1973’s “America Burning,” a federal report examining deaths and property loss from fire and making recommendations for increased safety of citizens and firefighting personnel.

Dateline UC Davis welcomes news of faculty and staff awards, for publication in Laurels. Send information to

About the author(s)

Dateline Staff Dave Jones, editor, can be reached at 530-752-6556 or Cody Kitaura, news and media relations specialist, can be reached at 530-752-1932 or