Skip to main content
You are here

UC Davis experts to speak at the American Geophysical Union annual meeting

By Andy Fell on December 10, 2015 in

UC Davis scientists from fields across earth and space science will present their work during the annual meeting of the American Geophysical Union in San Francisco, Dec. 14-18. More information about the meeting.

This tip sheet highlights a range of UC Davis research, from the origin of planets and Pluto, to the future of water in the West, to minerals in Earth's mantle. 

Monday, Dec. 14:

8 a.m. Thomas Harter (thharter@ucdavis.edu) looks at nitrate contamination in the Central Valley aquifer from 1945 until today.

8 a.m. Katherine Ransom (lockhart.katherine@gmail.com) estimates the contribution of manure, fertilizers, septic waste and natural sources to groundwater nitrate in the San Joaquin Valley, California.

10:50 a.m. Alisha Clark (anclark@ucdavis.edu) examines the elastic properties of silicate melts to develop new interpretations of low velocity anomalies under hot spots and arcs.

1:40 p.m. Katrina Arredondo (karredondo@ucdavis.edu) models deforming slabs in subduction zones.

1:40 p.m. Angela Hawkins (akhawkins@ucdavis.edu) investigates induced and triggered earthquakes at The Geysers geothermal field in California.

1:40 p.m. Quinn Norris (jqnorris@ucdavis.edu) discusses a simple model for understanding fracking and fracking-related earthquakes.

1:40 p.m. James Oltjen (jwoltjen@ucdavis.edu) presents a Web-based mapping platform named "BeefTracker” to provide beef cattle ranchers a tool to determine how cattle production fits within sustainable ecosystems.

1:40 p.m. Mark Yoder (yoder@physics.ucdavis.edu) introduces Virtual Quake, a system for developing earthquake forecasts.

Tuesday, Dec. 15:

8 a.m. Misun Yang (mskang007@gmail.com) presents experimental results from tests of brine migration, a concern in long-term nuclear waste storage sites.

8 a.m. Megan Krusor (mkrusor@gmail.co)m investigates mineralization within modern microbial mats.

8:15 a.m. Sarah Stewart (sts@ucdavis.edu) discusses planetary formation models and problems.

9 a.m. Magali Billen (mibillen@ucdavis.edu) describes an irregular feature in the Tonga Slab that suggests the slab is tearing in two.

9:05 a.m. Charles Lesher (celesher@ucdavis.edu) presents new constraints on the mantle lithosphere beneath Greenland.

9:30 a.m. John Rundle (jbrundle@ucdavis.edu) discusses methods to calculate probabilities of major earthquakes.

11:05 a.m. Michael Oskin (meoskin@ucdavis.edu) shows how high-precision 3D imaging is revolutionizing information collection immediately following earthquakes.

1:40 p.m. Kei Ishida (kishida@ucdavis.edu) tracks the ratio of snow to precipitation as it gradually decreases over three Northern California watersheds during the 21st century.

1:40 p.m. Sarah Moffitt (sarahevelynmoffitt@gmail.com) examines changes in benthic ocean ecosystems during mid-Pleistocene climate change.

1:40 p.m. Allison Rubin (aerubin@ucdavis.edu) investigates pre-eruptive processes in volcanoes.

2:40 p.m. Sujoy Mukhophyay (sujoy@ucdavis.edu) presents high-precision xenon measurements suggesting between five to eight mantle turnovers in Earth's history.

3:10 p.m. Simon Lock (slock@fas.harvard.edu) demonstrates a new model for the origin of the moon.

Wednesday, Dec. 16:

8 a.m. Charles Trexler (cctrexler@ucdavis.edu) explores the role of subduction in generating the Greater Caucasus Mountains.

8 a.m. Sarah Lambart (slambart@ucdavis.edu) estimates the proportion of pyroxenites in the mantle, which affects buoyancy and could have geodynamic implications.

8 a.m. Louise Kellogg (lhkellogg@ucdavis.edu) models the onset of convection in planetary interiors.

8 a.m. Curtis Williams (cdwill@ucdavis.edu) documents helium isotope variation along the global mid-ocean rift system.

11:51 a.m. Neil Griffis (Npgriffis@ucdavis.edu) finds better time constraints for the late Paleozoic Ice Age in the Paraná Basin, Brazil.

1:40 p.m. Marie Weisfeiler (mweisfeiler@ucdavis.edu) discusses methods for estimating the surface temperature of exoplanets.

1:40 p.m. Julie Witcover (jwitcover@ucdavis.edu) documents a shift towards a diverse mix of alternative fuels since California enacted the Low Carbon Fuel Standard in 2010.

2:40 p.m. Josue Medellin-Azuara (josuemedellin@gmail.com) reviews the impacts of California’s ongoing four-year drought and its importance for state water supply systems.

Thursday, Dec. 17:

8 a.m. Mustafa Dogan (msdogan@ucdavis.edu) shows how sustainable groundwater management and climate change are likely to affect California’s water supply system.

8 a.m. William Glassley (geobg@nf.au.dk) studies the metamorphic history of 1.8 billion-year-old rocks in West Greenland.

8 a.m. Sarah Enders (skenders@ucdavis.edu) examines 40,000 years of nitrogen cycling as recorded in northeast Siberian permafrost.

8 a.m. Shruti Khanna (shrkhanna@ucdavis.edu) tracks invasive species in the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta, California.

8 am. Tyler Mackey (tjmackey@ucdavis.edu) discusses microbial mats in Lake Joyce, a perennially ice-covered lake of the Antarctic McMurdo Dry Valleys.

9 a.m. Jose Pablo Ortiz Partida (joportiz@ucdavis.edu) analyzes the economic effects of water management policies.

9:30 a.m. Kari Cooper (kmcooper@ucdavis.edu) investigates the history of magma reservoirs through zircon crystals in plutons and volcanic rocks.

10:20 a.m. Deborah Brosnan (deborahbrosnan@gmail.com) discusses applying science in the midst of disaster events during a special session on scientists and hazards.

10:35 a.m. Trevor Waldien (tswaldien@ucdavis.edu) documents complex patterns of exhumation in the Alaska Range along the Denali Fault System.

11:20 a.m. Gregory Pasternack (gpast@ucdavis.edu) examines habitat restoration on the lower Yuba River, California, through sediment sluicing and natural floods.

11:50 a.m. Katherine Markovich (khmarkovich@ucdavis.edu) analyzes the declining alpine snowmelt runoff in California and Chile.

12:05 p.m. Christopher Cappa (cdcappa@ucdavis.edu) studies the complex relationships between sea spray aerosols, ocean water and phytoplankton. The aerosols scatter solar radiation and serve as cloud seeds.

1:40 p.m. Ángeles Casas Planes (angelescasasp@gmail.com) maps habitat suitability for the black-backed woodpecker in the 2013 Rim Fire burn area in the Sierra Nevada mountains.

1:40 p.m. Andrew Nichols (alnichols@ucdavis.edu) looks at the effects of intentional levee breaches on the lower Cosumnes River, California.

1:40 p.m. Kasey Schultz (kwschultz@ucdavis.edu) combines tsunami modeling and earthquake simulations to develop better tsunami scenarios for the prototype Pacific Rim Tsunami Early Warning System.

1:55 p.m. Eric Cowgill (escowgill@ucdavis.edu) finds evidence of earthquake clustering in the paleoseismic record along the Altyn Tagh fault bordering the Tibetan Plateau.

4 p.m. M.L. Kavaas (mlkavvas@ucdavis.edu) looks at future floods in the Cache Creek watershed, California, under various climate change scenarios.

Friday, Dec. 18:

8 a.m. Erik Davies (erikjdavies@gmail.com) proposes collision scenarios for the origin of Pluto and its moons.

8 a.m. Rui Zhang (rwzhang@ucdavis.edu) finds a large-scale meteorological pattern during cold air outbreaks over the California Central Valley. The outbreaks can trigger multibillion dollar agricultural losses.

8 a.m. Matthew Weber (mdweber@ucdavis.edu) documents topographic changes on the lower Yuba River, California, during flooding caused by atmospheric rivers.

8 a.m. Chih-Yang Chen (cycch@ucdavis.edu) tests a tropical cyclone model for the Northwestern Pacific.

8 a.m. Marielle Pinheiro (marielle.pinheiro@gmail.com) documents changes in water and energy during the life cycle of Hurricane Katrina.

9 a.m. Catherine Davis (cvdavis@ucdavis.edu) probes the foraminifera paleothermometer at high latitudes.

9:15 a.m. Mark Lubell (mnlubell@ucdavis.edu) provides an overview of several studies of how farmers make decisions about climate change adaptation and mitigation.

9:45 a.m. Susan Ustin (slustin@ucdavis.edu) analyzes the impact and recovery of wetlands following the BP Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

1:40 p.m. Dawn Sumner (dysumner@ucdavis.edu) discusses the geologic history of rocks at the base of Aeolis Mons in Gale Crater, Mars.

1:40 p.m. Lorraine Hwang explores the social and technical barriers to software attribution among the members of the geodynamics modeling community.

1:40 p.m. Joseph Biello (biello@math.ucdavis.edu) reveals that midlatitude Rossby waves can generate convectively coupled Kelvin waves.

3:10 p.m. Alan Rhoades (alan.m.rhoades@gmail.com) forecasts future climate change impacts on water resources in the western United States.

4 p.m. Richard Grotjahn (grotjahn@ucdavis.edu) studies how Californian Central Valley summer extreme hot spells develop.

4:30 p.m. Susan Ustin (slustin@ucdavis.edu) co-authors an assessment of the potential impact of the 2015-2016 El Niño on the California Rim Fire burn scar.

Media contact(s)

Andy Fell, Research news (emphasis: biological and physical sciences, and engineering), 530-752-4533, ahfell@ucdavis.edu

Kat Kerlin, UC Davis Division of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, 530-752-7704, kekerlin@ucdavis.edu

Becky Oskin, (530) 754-2222, bcoskin@ucdavis.edu

Media Resources

Categories