Skip to main content
You are here

New Leadership at Cal Aggie Alumni Association Board

By on June 30, 2016 in University

The University of California, Davis, Cal Aggie Alumni Association has elected Debby Stegura ’79 as president of its board of directors and Bill Cochran ’73, cred. ’74, as executive vice president and president-elect for 2016-2017. Both will assume the office effective July 1.

“CAAA feels tremendously lucky to have the leadership of Debby and Bill, who share a demonstrated passion for service at UC Davis and beyond as well as a deep understanding of the missions of the university and CAAA,” said Rich Engel, UC Davis’ assistant vice chancellor for alumni relations and executive director of CAAA. “Together, they will provide motivating and innovative leadership to our growing community of alumni, members and volunteers.”

Passionate about education and the environment

Woman with glasses wearing royal blue top and gold beads
Beginning July 1, Debby Stegura ’79 will be the new president of the UC Davis Cal Aggie Alumni Association (CAAA) board of directors. (Courtesy photo/UC Davis)

Stegura, formerly CAAA’s executive vice president and president-elect, has been a longtime active supporter of CAAA, having been a life member of the nonprofit organization since she graduated. The Southern California resident also serves on UC Davis’ University Library Task Force. A first-generation student, she earned bachelor’s degrees with honors in mass communication and political science from UC Davis, then went on to earn a law degree from the University of Southern California. Previously a business litigator in private practice in Los Angeles, she now spends most of her time pursuing her passions — such as issues affecting education and the environment — through impactful volunteer work. She is a publicly elected official on the board of library trustees at the Palos Verdes Library District. She also volunteers on the environmental advisory committee of the City of Rolling Hills Estates and as part of the College Bound program of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Los Angeles Harbor, among others. She lives with her husband, Larry Vanden Bos, in Rolling Hills Estates, California.

“I’m honored to continue my service to the Cal Aggie Alumni Association and UC Davis,” said Stegura. “In the coming years, I’m excited to be a part of CAAA’s forward push to take CAAA’s mission to the next level, growing our alumni engagement and further supporting alumni as they grow their careers and seek ways to stay connected with their alma mater.”

Engaging alumni around the world

A life member since 1985, Cochran has served CAAA in numerous capacities through the years, in addition to serving on the chancellor’s advisory committee for athletics and on the School of Education’s building committee and alumni council. He graduated from UC Davis in 1973 with a degree in physical education and earned his teaching credential from UC Davis in 1974. He also holds a master’s in physical education from California State University, Sacramento, and a doctorate in education from Brigham Young University. Cochran is a vice president emeritus of academic affairs at Shasta College, where he retired in 2011 after a 25-year career in education administration. He lives in Redding, California, with his wife, Becky Cochran ’73, whom he met as a student at UC Davis. Both of their daughters attended UC Davis.

“I am very much looking forward to working with Debby and the rest of the CAAA board of directors as we continue to engage our growing alumni base around the world,” he said.

Other board members and advisers

Other CAAA board members not mentioned above include the following: Marie “Toni” Alejandria ’08; Bridget Bugbee ’13; Michael Campbell ’68; Diane Carlson Biggs ’81; Brian Ebbert ’92; Stacie Hartung Frerich ’01; Sandra Frye-Lucas, Ph.D. ’03; Stephen Inouye ’90, cred. ’96; Scott Judson ’09, J.D. ’12; Alex Kang ’09; Paul Keefer ’89; Ron Maroko, J.D. ’86; Charles Melton ’08; Jill Miller ’97; Molly Mrowka ’93; Algie Mosley ’96; Karla Stevenson ’93; Scott Stevenson ’92; Kyle Trinosky ’05, M.B.A.; Frederick Taverner ’87; Ron Van De Pol ’72; Jon Weiner ’85; and Derek Wilson ’99. 

CAAA board advisers include: Chancellor Linda P.B. Katehi; Acting Chancellor Ralph Hexter; Vice Chancellor Shaun Keister; Executive Director and Assistant Vice Chancellor Richard Engel ’90, cred. ’91; Ramak Siadatan ’99, M.B.A. ’06, immediate past president; Bruce Bell ’76, of UC Davis Foundation; Michael Sellens, of Aggie Parent and Family Programs; alumni representatives Bret Hewitt ’77, M.A. ’83, Sandi Redenbach ’72, cred. ’73, and Lori Madden, Ph.D. ’14; Alex Lee ’17, of Associated Students, UC Davis; Mason Schmidt ’17, of Student Alumni Association.

About the Cal Aggie Alumni Association

The Cal Aggie Alumni Association board of directors is a group of alumni volunteers who lead the organization in its service to UC Davis and its more than 240,000 alumni. It leads the association in fulfilling its mission: “To enrich the lives of alumni, students, families and friends worldwide, and develop lifelong ambassadors for UC Davis.”

The CAAA board of directors meets four times a year to establish policy, develop goals and objectives, assist with long-range planning, and monitor alumni association finances. The board consists of a president, vice president, and up to 23 directors-at-large. Board members are elected for two-year terms with a three term limit, and participation is open to all CAAA members.

More information about The Cal Aggie Alumni Association.

Media contact(s)

Rich Engel, Cal Aggie Alumni Association, 530-752-9960,