13 Honored as Chancellor’s Fellows

Two professors and 11 associate professors have been honored with an additional title: Chancellor’s Fellow.

“Our newest fellows represent the very best of UC Davis and I congratulate them,” Chancellor Gary S. May said in announcing the new fellows. “The knowledge, expertise and excellence these faculty demonstrate across a range of disciplines positively impacts our university’s mission of research, teaching and public service.”

Each fellow receives $25,000 in unrestricted funds for their research or other scholarly work. UC Davis has named 191 faculty members as Chancellor’s Fellows over the program’s 23-year history, with philanthropic support from the UC Davis Annual Fund, Davis Chancellor’s Club and the UC Davis Parents Fund.

“This is a great example of the power of philanthropy, allowing us to recognize our faculty and provide support for their work,” said Shaun Keister, vice chancellor for Development and Alumni Relations.

Phil Kass, vice provost of Academic Affairs, noted that Chancellor’s Fellows retain their new title for five years. “But we see them making a brilliant impact on UC Davis for many years beyond that,” he said.

The 2022-23 Chancellor’s Fellows are listed here with their department or school in parentheses: Jessica Bissett Perea (Native American studies), Marcela Cuellar (education), Melanie Gareau (veterinary medicine), J. Sebastian Gómez-Díaz (electrical and computer engineering), Rana Jaleel (gender, sexuality and women’s studies), Wilsaan Joiner (neurobiology, physiology and behavior), Xiaodong Li (statistics), David Olson (chemistry), Caitlin Patler (sociology), Zubair Shafiq (computer science), Aaron Tang (law), Karen Shapiro (veterinary medicine) and Rachel Vannette (entomology and nematology).

A brief description of each fellow’s work can be found below, each accompanied by a nominator’s quote. Click on any of the boxes to see the fellow’s faculty page.


Media Resources

Dateline Staff: Dave Jones, editor, 530-752-6556, dateline@ucdavis.edu; Cody Kitaura, News and Media Relations specialist, 530-752-1932, kitaura@ucdavis.edu.

Primary Category

Secondary Categories

Dateline Student Life