LAURELS: Jonna Mazet, Global ‘Healer’



  • Jonna Mazet, One Health Institute, School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Kiho Cho and the Shriners Research Safety Committee
  • Amy Oleynik and Lian Boos, Aggie Orientation
  • Beth Levy, Department of Music

Jonna Mazet headshot

Jonna Mazet, a professor of epidemiology with the School of Veterinary Medicine’s One Health Institute, joins primatologist Jane Goodall, youth climate action leader Varshini Prakash and 13 other inspiring changemakers named as “16 Women Restoring the Earth.”

The Global Landscapes Forum assembled the list in conjunction with International Women’s Day, March 8, recognizing the women for their work to “protect and restore the global natural capital though science, finance, policymaking, journalism and land rights, among others.” The forum celebrated Mazet as a “healer” for her work to prevent future pandemics by integrating human, animal and environmental health.

Mazet, has been at the helm of the One Health field as former director of the USAID PREDICT program, founding executive director of the One Health Institute, and a member of Global Virome Project board.

Two members of the Aggie Orientation team recently received regional awards from NODA, the Association of Orientation, Transition and Retention in Higher Education.

Amy Oleynik headshot

NODA honored Amy Oleynik, program coordinator, as an Outstanding OTR Professional, recognizing outstanding contributions to the field of orientation, transition and retention. She began working at UC Davis in February 2015 as transfer student advising program coordinator, and now focuses on academic advising, transfer student and program logistics. 

Lian Boos headshot

Lian Boos received the Outstanding New OTR Professional Award, recognizing a new orientation, transition and retention professional who has demonstrated service to NODA and/or the orientation, transition and retention profession. She has served as assistant director of orientation since February 2018, first on an interim basis for a year before securing the job on a permanent basis. She joined UC Davis in 2016 as first-year orientation program coordinator.

Committee members around table
The Shriners Research Safety Committee, safe in their masks, from left: Back row — Kiho Cho and Travis Burns. Front row — Sherry Middleton, Debora Lim, Linda Viscardi, Elsie Loddie and Tajia Green. Not pictured: Konstantinos Zarbalis.

The Shriners Research Safety Committee earned Safety Services’ Quarterly Safety Star award for the last quarter of 2020.

A Safety Services announcement asked: “Did you know that Shriners Hospital also contains UC Davis research labs?” Shriners Hospital for Children-Northern California sits adjacent to UC Davis Medical Center in Sacramento.

Kiho Cho headshot

The answer: Yes, Shriners Hospital houses UC Davis research labs. Kiho Cho started the safety committee in early 2019 and it has met regularly since, addressing unique issues that can arise from working in a combination hospital/research area. Cho is a professor of surgery at UC Davis Health and an associate investigator and manager of burn research at the Shriners hospital.

Adrienne Zweifel, associate biosafety officer, and Elizabeth Ingham, School of Medicine safety officer, nominated the committee for the Safety Star award, stating: “Dr. Cho recruited other researchers to create a research safety committee whose mission has been to identify and alleviate confusion surrounding general safety procedures and reporting requirements. This supports a proactive safety culture. The committee members work together to identify and resolve safety concerns.”

Nominate a Safety Star.

Beth Levy, associate professor of music, has been elected vice president of the Society for American Music. She is the author of Frontier Figures: American Music and the Mythology of the American West (2012). Her other interests include 18th- and 19th-century aesthetics, reception history and representations of music in literature.

Dateline UC Davis welcomes news of faculty and staff awards, for publication in Laurels. Send information to

Media Resources

Dateline Staff: Dave Jones, editor, 530-752-6556,; Cody Kitaura, News and Media Relations specialist, 530-752-1932,

Primary Category

Secondary Categories