Skip to main content
You are here

LARUE NAMESAKES ...

By Amy Agronis on November 19, 2004 in University

John Whitaker, professor emeritus of food science and technology (shown Dateline home page), talks with students after officially having a building named in his honor at The Colleges at LaRue. Whitaker was among three staff and faculty recognized at the Nov. 6 ceremony at the complex -- home to some 600 students. Honorees were chosen for contributions to the undergraduate educational experience. Chancellor Larry Vanderhoef was among the speakers. Whitaker retired in 1992 after 36 years at UC Davis. Also honored was the late Eugene Stevenson Sr., former assistant vice chancellor for student affairs, 1971-81. At right, Stevenson's sons Michael, left, Scott, who is publications coordinator for intercollegiate athletics, Joseph, Keith and Eugene Jr. paid tribute to their father. Meanwhile, Jim Elliott receieved the honor from the chancellor for his late wife, Jane, former director of special programs and manager of minority services, on campus 1978-93. Fourteen staff and faculty have had courts or buildings named after them since the complex opened in 2000. Namings will continue over the next six years.

Media contact(s)

Amy Agronis, Dateline, (530) 752-1932, abagronis@ucdavis.edu

Categories