Skip to main content
You are here

Experts: Climate Change and Community Resilience

By Kat Kerlin on September 4, 2018 in Environment

The following sources from the University of California, Davis, are available to talk with media about climate change impacts and solutions related to community resilience. 

More UC Davis climate change experts lists are available under the topic areas of waterwildfire and air quality, agriculture, wildlifeenergy and transportation, and atmospheric sciences.

Urban Design, Rural Communities and Resilience

Jonathan London directs the Center for Regional Change and is an associate professor of Community and Regional Development. He can discuss issues regarding community resilience and environmental justice in rural communities, including access to drinking water. Contact:  jklondon@ucdavis.edu

Beth Rose Middleton is associate professor of Native American Studies. She can discuss rural environmental justice and indigenous analyses of climate change. Contact: 530-754-4802, brmiddleton@ucdavis.edu

Catherine Brinkley is an assistant professor of community and regional development in the Department of Human Ecology, a city planner and veterinarian. She can discuss how human, animal and environmental health is shared, how food systems impact greenhouse gas emissions, and community siting decisions for district energy. Contact: ckbrinkley@ucdavis.edu

Zeke Baker is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Sociology. He studies how policymakers and governments interact with climate science knowledge  to make decisions that affect the public, including on such issues as drinking water supplies. Contact: 707-489-9353, ejbaker@ucdavis.edu

Stephen Wheeler is a professor of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Design in the Department of Human Ecology. He can discuss urban and regional planning, including climate change planning and sustainable development. Contact: 530-754-9332, smwheeler@ucdavis.edu

Claire Napawan is an associate professor of Landscape Architecture in the Department of Human Ecology and co-founder of Group Projects. She focuses on community resilience through participatory design. Her local resilience work includes #OurChangingClimate, which encourages youth climate engagement via social media, and the Alameda Creek Atlas, a proposal for the Resilient by Design Bay Area Challenge. Contact: 530-554-9540, ncnapawan@ucdavis.edu

Environmental Sustainability and Climate Change

Camille Kirk is UC Davis’ director of sustainability and campus sustainability planner. She can discuss campus climate actions and other issues regarding environmental sustainability. Contact: 530-752-7954, cmkirk@ucdavis.edu

Media contact(s)

Karen Nikos-Rose, UC Davis News and Media Relations, 530-219-5472, kmnikos@ucdavis.edu

Kat Kerlin, UC Davis News and Media Relations, 530-752-7704, kekerlin@ucdavis.edu

Categories